My first stop in Tuscany !

Italy is according to me , the most beautiful country in Europe. I’ve been there several times and I have never been disappointed. I come from France which is already a beautiful country full of history, art, customs and beautiful landscapes but Italy seems to be even more beautiful than my native country. Well, at least it is during summer !

So last summer, I went to Tuscany for a week in the beginning of September. It was probably a great choice to go there in September as July and August are too crowded. In September there were still some tourists but it was not annoying. I landed in Pisa and that’s where my adventures in Tuscany began.

My Airbnb was quite far from the centre so i won’t recommend it. After dropping my bags there I headed toward the centre. Before going to the touristic part of Pisa I walked around to discover Pisa’s little secrets.

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

Pisa might look like an ordinary Italian city but that’s all I was looking for. Houses are painted with warm colours. Buildings are old with cracks appearing in the paint. The Arno River crosses the town, allowing old bridges to link both sides. Old arches, columns, cobbles streets, churchs and paintings are scattered all around the place. Delicious ice creams are waiting to be eaten in every gelateria. The weather is great and people are smiling and seem happy. What else could I possibly ask for?

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

After a nice stroll around the centre of Pisa, I finally arrived near the famous Leaning Tower and cathedral. All the tourists coming from all over the word were gathered in this place. Eveybody was taking the ritual picture, pretenting to hold the Leaning Tower. Looking at them was quite funny as they quickly look stupid if we don’t take in account the Tower behind them.

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

Let me introduce you to La Piazza Dei Miracoli and its massive Duomo. The Duomo was free. I just needed to get a ticket to get in for free.

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

I had booked the Leaning Tower for 8pm so I had the time to walk around the place and take pictures. The next pictures show the Baptistery and Camposante Monumentale.

img_0032KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

And I finally walked up the tower and admired the sunset view for a while. Going up the Tower is worth it. The view is nice and I really liked going there around 8 as most of people have left the area. You can enjoy the view in a quiet and peaceful atmosphere. I remember listening to some local music being played somewhere in town.  Going up the Tower is actually funny as the stairs are leaning. There is nothing much to say about Pisa but if you get the chance to stop there I recommend you to do so as it is a nice city where there is more to see than the Leaning Tower. After Pisa I went to Siena but my Siena adventures will be told in another article !!

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

 

