Secret & quiet

Kensington is another part of London I wanted to visit to find mews. I already had found mews in Notting Hill but I knew that Kensington was also full of these cute little streets.

Kensington is a district within the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea in West London. For those who do not really know London it is an area located south west of Hyde Park. You have probably been to this area without even knowing that you were in Kensington if you have already been to the Royal Albert Hall, the Natural History Museum or Holland Park.

It was my first time exploring Kensington. I had already planned my itinerary so it was easy to find Kensington’s secrets. It is a really nice area to walk around and it seems quite nice to live there as well. It is of course a posh neighbourhood. I do not have a clear idea of how expensive it is to live there but I guess I will never be able to afford any place in this district!

Kensington is full of beautiful buildings, cute little mews, gardens, shops, pubs and restaurants. I mainly took pictures of mews because the buildings and shops streets look like the ones you can find in all the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea.

I arrived at Holland Park tube station and headed to Holland Park. On the way to Holland Park I managed to find Holland Park Mews. It’s a cute cobblestone street accessible through an old door. The houses on this street look all the same and all different at the same time. Some frontages look like they have been decorated with flowers, bushes, old lamps or bikes to take the perfect instagram shot.

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

After walking down Holland Park mews I walked through Holland Park. I did not go to Kyoto Gardens but that is a place I still have to go to. Holland Park is nice and quiet. It’s a perfect place to jog, have a walk or just chilling in summer. After Holland Park I went to see the Churchill Arms.

The Churchill Arms is a pub famous for its frontage. As you can see on the following pictures, the walls of the pub are full of flowers and flags. I still need to go inside but the outside makes it a lovely unusual place.

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

The rest of my adventures in Kensington are mainly mews. The most famous one is probably Kenance Mews because of the arches and red leaves. I walked around Kensington to find other secret and quiet cobblestone streets such as Atherstone Mews, Stanhope Mews, Cranley Mews, Reece Mews or Ennismore gardens mews.

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

 

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

