Hidden passages of Paris

Paris is a city I did not like that much at first. I had always seen this city as a crowdy, noisy and polluted city. I did not like taking the metro as it is dirty and stinky. It was also a city where I did not feel safe. I always keep my bad in front of me and precious things in a safe place. At first, walking in Paris makes you feel like you can’t breathe. You feel like there should be more gardens, parks, trees and flowers.  There are too many tourists, too many cars, too much noise etc etc…

I also did not like how people were always rushing. Everybody seems rude and not happy. Nobody seems to know how to be polite. I always compare Paris to London where people help you with your luggage, joke and smile whatever the time of the day or the weather conditions.

However, the more I have been to Paris the more I started to like it. After visiting the main touristic areas I tried to find other cute and interesting places. I try to spend at least one weekend in Paris each year to visit parts of the city I have never been to and to visit and spend quality time with some friends working or studying there. I have visited a few areas so far and I want to write a few lines about my favourites.

KODAK Digital Still Camera

Let me show you some of my favourite passages and galleries. These covered passages allow you to go from one street to another through a block of buildings. Most of them hide a lot of little shops and boutiques. These passages are well maintained and decorated. Most of them are located above the Seine (Rive Droite).

I have walked around this area a couple of times and it’s always a pleasure to take pictures and visit all the nice boutiques. Talking with people living in Paris made me realise that most of them don’t even know about these passages and have therefore never seen them.

It takes around two hours I think to walk around and see most of them. It obviously takes more time if you are like me and you like to get in the shops and look at everything, talk to people, ask questions and take pictures.

The first passage I would like to show you is “Le Passage du Grand Cerf” which means the ” big deer/stag passage” in English. It is to me one of the most beautiful. I like the fact that decoration change depending on the time of the year you go. I have been there twice and the passage looked different.

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

Galerie Vivienne is also one of the most beautiful passages in Paris. This one is quite posh. The mosaics on the floor make this passage quite different from the other passages. I have been there twice and I think I found this gallery brighter and warmer than the others. I strongly recommend to go there to have a look. It is located Rue des Petits Champs near La Bourse and Le Palais Royal.

  KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

Let’s have a look at “Le Passage Verdeau” now! This one is located Rue de la Grange Batelière and Rue du Faubourg Montmatre.

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

Passage Jouffroy is also a cool one! You probably know it if you have ever been to the Grevin Museum which is the French Equivalent of Madame Tussauds in London. You can find it on Boulevard Montmatre.

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraI can’t show you all the passages so I am just going to post a few other pictures of my favourite ones. Le passage des Panoramas should be on your list if you are looking for nice Passages as well as the Passage de l’Ancre or Passage Choiseul. 

KODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still CameraKODAK Digital Still Camera

